Total Pageviews

Saturday, 1 February 2020


The Academy Awards take place on Sunday 9 February, 2020.

I gave up watching any awards show years ago. Too much squabbling and all that ballyhoo.

But I am intrigued by the actors, actresses and directors who have never won an Oscar for a specific parts or films. There may well be honorary awards amongst the list, but none for a specific piece of work.

Chin-drop and head-scratch alert:

Greta Garbo
Judy Garland
Doris Day
Lauren Bacall
Debbie Reynolds
Marilyn Monroe
Angela Lansbury
Deborah Kerr

Kirk Douglas
Cary Grant
Gene Kelly
James Mason
Tony Curtis
Orson Welles
Richard Burton
Peter O'Toole

Alfred Hitchcock
Howard Hawkes
Cecil B. Demille
Charlie Chaplin
Arthur Penn
Frederico Fellini
Sam Peckinpah
Sidney Lumet
Robert Altman
Stanley Kubrick

This is just a sample.

No comments:

Post a comment